Really Free – July 4

Dear Friends,

Today we celebrate our freedom. It is so hot it’s hard to imagine cooking outdoors on the “barbie”, but there may be some diehards doing just that. It’s easier for me to imagine hand-cranking ice cream in the shade or cracking open a chilled watermelon followed by tons of fireworks. However you celebrate, enjoy your time spent with family and friends.

If you are like me every holiday is a shrill reminder that someone is missing. I miss his face, his chuckle, his love for my cooking. It’s hard to celebrate with gusto when there is nagging pain deep within. I get that.

Since we are celebrating freedom today I’d like to pause and think about what this really means. Are we really free? We come and go at will, but there is always someone who wants payment for stuff we buy and if we don’t make house payments, the bank will come calling. Let’s face it. We are surrounded by obligations, chained to them is what it feels like at times.

I want to be really free. I want there to be no more pain, suffering, sadness, disease or trouble of any kind. I want my son returned to me…but not as he was, but as he will be, all brand new. I want Jesus to return and wake him up! Then we will go to heaven where we will be free at last for all eternity. Really!

For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of Him who subjected it in hope; because the creation itself also will be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. Romans 8:20-21 NKJV

Share your thoughts....

