Mud Pies

I may not be a good pie baker now, but when I was little I made the best mud pies. They looked good enough to eat, but I knew they weren’t because they were just dirt and water.

The Bible says that we are just mud without God’s breath and that He cares for us tenderly knowing that we are dust and easily broken. He is amazingly gentle with us, like I had to be with my mud pies or they would crack.

Just listen to these words about our Heavenly Parent:

God is sheer mercy and grace; not easily angered, He’s rich in love. He doesn’t endlessly nag or scold, nor hold grudges forever. He doesn’t treat us as our sins deserve, nor pay us back in full for our wrongs.

For as the heavens are high above the earth, so great are His mercy and loving kindness toward those who reverently and worshipfully fear Him. And as far as sunrise is from sunset, He has separated us from our sins. As parents feel for their children, God feels for those who fear Him. He knows us inside and out, keeping in mind that we’re made of mud. (Psalm 103: 8-14) 

God, mud pies are one thing, but “dust to dust” is a hard concept for me (Gen. 3:19). How could I ever have known that I would go from baking mud pies to visiting the cemetery where my boy is buried? Again, I hold You to Your promise of restoration. If all You needed to form Adam was a little mud and Your breath, certainly You can remake my son brand new.

2 thoughts on “Mud Pies

  1. Thanks, Friend, for stopping by and for your kind words. How great is our God to help us to be “of one mind”. In our shared stories, we can find common ground and grow bonds of understanding. It helps to have others, who understand, help relieve the pain.

    Are you feeling a bit “dusty” today? Feeling “cracked” in some places? You have come to the right place! I am a living, breathing “cracked pot” and often I leak! It seems like when I am freshly watered by the Holy Spirit through God’s Word, not much is retained. It seeps out my cracks and runs away! How about you?

  2. Won’t it be wonderful to see our boys all made new? Thanks for all your words of wisdom. It is so helpful to know that there are those who do understand what we are feeling. Grateful for the times when I can’t seem to describe what I am feeling, then I read your book Shatter By Suicide and you have described what I am feeling. Hug hug hug

Share your thoughts....

