Nine mile loop

We traveled to Utah after the wedding to see the Natural Bridges for the first time. There are 3 bridges within a 9-mile loop with beautiful overlooks, excellent trails and plenty of opportunity to fill the camera with photos ~ each opportunity seemingly better than the last. The sky was the perfect shade of blue, the air cool and the breeze wonderful. Our timing was perfect to explore the area, even with my gimpy knee!

We stopped often along the loop, capturing picture after picture without actually leaving the comfort of the lookouts carefully providing safety with metal railing. So far on this journey, my knee had behaved well and I could almost forget that I was recovering from surgery. We walked here and there all weekend of the wedding and more walking along the south rim of the magnificent Grand Canyon and I had very little soreness. The rest of me was sore, but the knee was holding up well.

The last bridge on the loop was Owachomo Bridge, thin and fragile compared to the massive size of the other two bridges. Without telling my cautious husband, I determined that I was not going to go home without descending to the bottom . . . if possible. From where I stood, it looked possible. Placing one foot flat in front of the other, I gradually descended the smooth stone surface. The paths are clean and marked with rocks so even a direction-ally challenged person like me could stay on course. Meanwhile my husband was busy with the camera. He had already staked his claim a few yards above me and said he was going no further. I said nothing and kept making my way s-l-o-w-l-y. When I disappeared around the bend, he hollered at me, “Hey, where’re you going?”

I was not going home without testing my limits and getting a view from up close. Now I had his attention and he followed after me. It was so beautiful up close with layers and shades of color. Several of us on the trail stopped to capture photos and even taking each other’s picture. Unknowns, we were still acquainted through shared interests in nature.

Did God build these bridges? Were they made this way from creation week? Many believe they evolved over time and there are lengthy explanations to read at each lookout. Likewise, our bus driver at Grand Canyon gave us a lengthy explanation how Grand Canyon came into existence over billions of years. One man told me he was a student of geology and he was fascinated by scientific detail, but he still was not sure. I asked him if he thought a world flood could have caused it? He didn’t know.

The walks and exercise did us good in mind and body. Seeing gifts of nature did us good as well. Believing in a God who cares enough about beauty to make sure we have plenty to see in spite of this crumbling planet makes me love Him all the more.

Who has gone up to heaven and come down?
Who has gathered the wind in the palm of his hand?
Who has wrapped water in a garment?
Who has set up the earth from one end to the other?
What is his name or the name of his son?
Certainly, you must know!  Proverbs 30:4

 

Share your thoughts....

