Ever felt small?

I’m like to watch Jeopardy, even if I rarely can answer a question. You think if I hear the questions often enough I will improve? Probably not. But it amazes me how bright the competitors are. At least they are bright in the game of Jeopardy. They seem to have so much knowledge stored in their brains that can be retrieved and sent to to the signaling device before the others have a chance to ring in. Too nerve-wracking for me. It’s trivia for the most part. Certainly not life or death questions and answers.

You know about Job. He lived in the land of Uz. The Bible says that he was a just and upright man. At the end of the book of Job, God told him to brace himself like a man. He’s about to volley questions. There was no signaling device and none needed. Job probably stood at attention with his mouth open. Believe me, I would have.

Hit the pause button here. I would not want to trade places with Job in this story. satan has just been given carte blanche control over Job’s livelihood and family to do anything he pleases. I get a shiver up my spine just thinking about it. I would not want to be an experiment in satan’s hands without God controlling him, would you?

But God’s questions show who is the final Authority; not of Jeopardy, but Champion of the Universe. Just read through some of the questions God fired at Job and see if your jaw drops too. (All of God’s questions are found in the last 3 chapters of Job.)

1) Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?  2) Have you entered the storehouses of snow or seen the storehouses of hail?             3) What is the way to the abode of light and where does darkness reside?  4) Where does ice and frost come from?  5) Can you bind the beautiful Pleiades or loose the cords of Orion?  6) Who endowed the heart with wisdom?  7) Who has an arm like God’s and can your voice thunder like His?

Certainly food for thought.

Please read the next blog which is also about Job, written by Joni Eareckson Tada, a great mouthpiece for God.

Share your thoughts....

