Small things

Domestic cats in singapore. A bicolor and a br...

Some of you may have pets at home. You know that I have cats (I make no apologies), three males to be exact. Two are brothers, but they are so different, just like human brothers.

I confess that I treat them like they are my children, only these children will never grow up and go to college and eventually leave us with an empty nest. No, they, with their various shades of grey, are ours to love and care for and clean up after. They own us. We rent from them. We add a room on and they take it over with nary a look of “thanks”. But I love them just the way they are . . . with a few recommendations, but they don’t care.

So what’s my point? Even though it is the wee hours of the morning as I type this, I should still have one and this is it: sometimes it’s just the small things that set me off into grieving mode. Maybe a certain song, mannerisms, a special food that he used to love or just calling the pets in a certain tone voice. If I do that, they respond as if they hear the love. That voice. That sound was so him. He and I were alike in that we both called the pets that way. Maybe that doesn’t make sense to you and I apologize if I wasted the time it took you to read this.

But it really is about the small things; the tiny petals of a flower, ladybugs hiding out on the window sill, spontaneous belly laughter. Little things remind us of someone we loved more than life itself and the hammer blows sometimes surprise when they hurt so hard. For me, doing the voice without thinking . . . When I hear it from myself, I feel a jab deep in my soul and it stops me in my tracks. (I feel I am blubbering, but you get it, don’t you?)

Gone but not forgotten. We loved them always. We will miss them always. But we will never, ever forget them. We will talk about them, write in blogs and Facebook about them, and God knows we will carry them in our hearts forever.

So we’re not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without His unfolding grace. These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us. There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.  2 Corinthians 4:16-18, The Message

One thought on “Small things

  1. Thank you for this blog. This is so true! It’s the little unique mannerisms that made us fall in love with our babies, our children. May you always remember and smile that you will experience these voices, smiles and wonderful feelings again. Your cats are so handsome.

Share your thoughts....

