His Hand of Comfort

I am the One who comforts you.  Isaiah 51:12

God blesses those people who grieve. They will find comfort!  Matthew 5:4

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort.  2 Corinthians 1:3

Ah, the yummy concoctions we call comfort food:  fluffy mashed potatoes and gravy, baked-to-perfection macaroni and cheese, hot fudge sauce drizzled over mounds of home-churned ice cream, to name just a few of my favorites. Sorry, but you will have to make your own list ~ that is if you dare to admit that you like them too!

Lord, these foods are smooth and creamy or warm and gooey, and they slide down so effortlessly. But the comfort goes away when the food is gone. Gone, but unfortunately not forgotten since it seems to meander down to my hips and stick there.

Thank You, Lord, for Your warm hand of comfort on my shoulder yesterday. Thank You for whispering soothing, sweet peace into my ear that flowed over my being like warmed honey. Thank You for being my true comfort; my lasting comfort and the only one who is able to reach inside where it hurts and tenderly hold my heart.

I love You, God.

~ from Shattered by Suicide, by Gracie Thompson

 

Share your thoughts....

