*Leave wiggle room

 

In a recent Sabbath school class, a lady illustrated her point by revealing that she is a list person. Right away she had my attention because I am one too. There are probably many of us who make a “To Do” list and then feel a sense of accomplishment when we can check things off, be it at work, home or both. But the lady went on to say that when she makes her list, she has learned to leave a line blank for God; a divine surprise, if you will.

I like that. Even though I pray in the morning and give my day to the Lord, it is very easy for me to go off to do my list without keeping in mind that I just gave my day to the Lord. What would He have me do? Do I think He does not care about the groceries and other errands? Does He not care about the heavy work load that I cannot seem to keep up with? What about the children? Does He care whether they are fed properly, helped with their homework, taken here and there for things on their “To Do” list? And my spouse? Surely He cares about our time together. Surely He cares about every detail of our lives. Read what David has to say, perhaps in the early morning when he begins his day:

God’s Word warns us of danger and directs us to hidden treasure. Otherwise how will we find our way? Or know when we play the fool? Clean the slate, God, so we can start the day fresh! Keep me from stupid sins, from thinking I can take over Your work; then I can start this day sun-washed, scrubbed clean of the grime of sin. These are the words in my mouth; these are what I chew on and pray. Accept them when I place them on the morning altar, O God, my Rock.  Psalm 19:11-14, MSG

I am humbled by the Psalmist’s words. I need all these things. I need time with God. I need to lay everything at His feet. He is full of surprises for me, but nothing about me is a surprise to Him. Leaving blank space on my daily list, whether I tag it as a “God Surprise” or whether I just leave it blank, will be a reminder of Who is in charge of my day and it is up to Him to bring it all together. My job is to surrender it to Him.

Share your thoughts....

