*I want what I want when I want it!

The topic is cats, yet again. If you’re new, I’ll quickly bring you up to speed. We have three furry, four-legged, funny cats . . . with drama. “When can we eat?” starts every day as soon as the man of the house gets home from work. They outta know by now they don’t eat until 5 o’clock-ish, but since they can’t tell time (you’d think they can sometimes) the whining begins about 4 o’clock every day. There are attention-getters and I’ll list a few. You can probably add to the list:

  • Set in front of the TV being a “door” hair magnet. Prohibited by the establishment.
  • Climb all over the piano while whining. Also prohibited by the establishment.
  • Jump up on the PC desk, set one’s furry bulk squarely in front of the screen. Owner can’t do the blog thing. Prohibited!
  • Jump up on owner. Do the headbutt thing, head to nose. Whose idea was THAT!
  • Plant your feet into tender places on owner’s belly and stand there as if waiting for the bus. Ouch!
  • Look pathetic. Should be prohibited.
  • Look starved, which is impossible given the fact that they get 2 squares of (boring) dry + a tsp. of soft cat food/day . . . the reason for all the whining. They sleep and wait and sleep and wait all day for this tiny morsel of stinky food which is gone in 15 seconds, flat!

Are there spiritual lessons here?  My impatience? My assumption that it’s all about me? Does it help when I beg God? I must admit that the cats’ behavior with me reminds me of my behavior with God. They make me smile. Do you suppose we make God smile?

He has my attention. I am ready to listen. Unlike my furry feline friends.

And it shall be that before they call I will answer; and while they are yet speaking I will hear.  Isaiah 65:24

3 thoughts on “*I want what I want when I want it!

  1. I can just picture your furry ball of independence – until supper time, that is – jumping around in your way as you are trying to do daily things. Makes me smile. But like you, it points out to me I am impatient with God at times until I become aware of it, yet one more time. Sure hope He is smiling at me!

Share your thoughts....

