When Joni thinks of heaven, conclusion

When I think of heaven, I think of a time when I will be welcomed home. I remember when I was on my feet what a cozy, wonderful feeling is was to come home after hockey practice. How pleasant to hear the familiar clanging of bells against our back door as I swung it open. Inside awaited the sights, sounds, and smells of warmth and love. Mom would greet me with a wide smile as she dished out food into big bowls ready to be set on the table. I’d throw down my sweat suit and hockey stick, bound into the den and greet Daddy. He’d turn from his desk, taking off his glasses; then he’d give me a big “hi” and ask me how practice was. For Christians, heaven will be like that. We will be reunited with family and friends who will sweep us into warm embraces. Our kind, heavenly Father will greet us with open, loving arms. King Jesus, our Elder Brother, will give us a royal welcome too. We won’t feel strange or insecure. We will feel like we are home . . . for we will be home. Jesus said it is a place prepared for us.

We’ll have new bodies and new minds! I myself will be able to run to friends and embrace them for the first time. I will lift my new hands before the hierarchy of heaven ~ shouting to everyone within earshot, “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain to receive blessings and honor. For He freed me from the clutches of sin and death and now He has freed my body as well!” (Revelation 5:12)

He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.  Revelation 22:20

Earth from Space

Earth from Space 

Share your thoughts....

