Keep alert

file000747570236

I was zoned out in my happy place. I couldn’t travel far; I was confined to a dental chair. Not my favorite place. It’s not personal. I like my dentist alright. He’s friendly and kind, but he still carries a needle and I hate having my gums stuck. Ouch! In fact, I hate to have my teeth worked on, period. Even cleanings! This was worse. I was having crown work done. Ugh. So I elected to pay for a little nitrous oxide to get me through. Stop laughing!

Did the gas always make me this woosey? I remember on previous occasions becoming one with the chair without digging my fingernails into the leather upholstery, but did it always make me this, ah, stoned? I forget. But it did today. I felt the dreaded stick, but I no longer cared. I was in my happy place and very close to a nap, of all things. (I know. Snoring would be embarrassing.)

Even though I was nearly out, I could hear every word exchanged between the dentist and hygienist, and clear as crystal. I was even multitasking in my brain. All kinds of words were floating through my head. If I had been at my computer, I could have pulled out a half dozen blogs with little effort; ideas were crisscrossing in rapid-fire succession.

Aw, shucks. Some sense came into my mind. Seems like I remembered a phrase from a class long ago, “hearing is the last sense to go”. I get it. People who are near death can still hear, not that it matters much at that point. On the other hand, I would live to write about my dental experience. Would it be anything of value?

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8, NIV?

Perhaps one could gain spiritual insight after reading the reminder from scripture. We may fade into oblivion, but the enemy never does. He is always on the lookout for ways to snare us into making wrong choices leading us away from the safety of God’s presence. A little nitrous oxide may seem a minor thing in a controlled environment, but I choose to be on high alert the rest of the time.

Share your thoughts....

