After election thoughts . . .

Please note. I don’t live and breathe politics. When news guests begin to crunch the numbers, I glaze over. No stump speech; we’ve had enough of those, but I do have an opinion and this piece, by Roger Bothwell, got me thinking about whether or not we really think in this land of ours? Read on:
God is not Glorified by Ignorance
A 50ish looking man from India came into my hospital room each evening to take my blood pressure. On the way out he would always say, “Is there anything I can get for you?”  So one evening I responded, “Yes, Matthew, I would like a new Cadillac.”  To which he said, “What’s a Cadillac?”  He was serious so I asked how long had he been in America.  “Twenty-three years” was his astounding answer.  So I said, “Okay, I will take a new Buick.”  Again he claimed he had no idea what I was talking about.
How is it possible for someone to be in a culture for twenty-three years and be so unaware?  I found out he drove back and forth to work in his Toyota.  Did he not see other cars around him, especially when waiting for a traffic signal?  What about commercials on television?  He told me he had a TV and watched it.
 
I know that in John 17 Jesus spoke of being in the world but not of the world, but this seemed radical.  In Matthew 10 Jesus told us to be wise as serpents.  One cannot be wise if one is ignorant.  God is not glorified by uninformed servants.  If we are to be useful servants we need to be discerning of culture, especially if we have young people in our families.  They are immersed in their culture of clothes, music, etc.  We must understand people’s needs and know what to say and what not to say in troubled times.  Real wisdom is a knowledge filled head dedicated to understanding rules and the principles under-girding those rules.
~Roger Bothwell
Question: Does God concern Himself with our voting decisions? Does He care who runs our country? How about we answer these questions with a story from long ago recorded in 1 Samuel 8. You can read the details for yourself, so I will briefly summarize. When the prophet Samuel was getting old, the people of Israel asked Samuel to appoint them a king. This upset Samuel and He prayed to God about it. God told Samuel, ” It is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected Me as their King (vs. 7).
Let’s unpack this quote for a moment. The people who had been led all this time by the God of heaven, would prefer to have an earthly king so that they would be like their neighbors. Heaven vs earthly. Hmmm. They would trade in the God of heaven who leads without error for a human who is full of errors and provides leadership based on what those around him tell him to do. He may or may not rely on the God of heaven for his instruction. His pride in his own ability may get in the way and though fallible, he leads his nation.
The people had experience with God’s leadership for generations. With the Best of the Best, why would they restlessly seek to be like the heathen nations? What comes to mind is, dah, what were they thinking?
Is it possible that we carry over ideas from previous generations? Do we carefully and prayerfully reason out who will be our best leader? Do we desire someone who impresses us with their looks and promises or do we soul search for something deeper for leadership? The Israelite’s had God as their leader and yet they desired a tall, dark and handsome Saul, who turned out to be a poor leader. How could they compare him with the God of heaven and turn God down? I shake my head, dumbfounded. How about you?

We read these stories of old for our learning. We don’t need to repeat their problems. They are all recorded to lead us toward God and to trust His leadership day by day. The leaders of our land will come and go, but the Leader of our lives will not. He stands forever. I choose to keep my thoughts on Him. I want to go home; to my real home. I want all my earthly brothers and sisters to go too, but there are many who won’t be interested. They will turn their backs on God; craving rather the sweets of this earth with their mouths already full of decay. The Bible says this will happen. The only question for me is, “Why?”

The narrow gate

Here are a couple of texts to chew on. Let’s be mindful that setting our sites on heaven is no easy journey. It calls for a love relationship with Jesus Christ.

If My people, who are called by My name, will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.  2 Chronicles 7:14

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.  Matthew 7:13

 

Share your thoughts....

