No Trespassing

Bailey's Treasure Hunt_V

Bailey’s Treasure Hunt

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”  Matthew 6:21

Dear Jesus,

I thought I’d tell You that I have buried my painful memories in a deep hole in an obscure part of my property, and I posted a “No Trespassing” sign. I hope You don’t plan on snooping around there or anything. I’ve been stuffing pain all my life and that is the way I deal with my problems in order to move forward.

That bag was full to overflowing after tragedy struck so I piled it in the back of my pick-up and buried it in my field. No one knows where it is except me . . . and obviously You do too. But leave it alone, please. It’s better that way. What good does it do to go digging around in the past? What’s happened has happened. It is what it is.

My Dear Child,

Your heart will always be where your treasure is. Remember the story in Matthew 13? This story is talking about storing our valuables in heaven rather than on earth, but memories are treasures too, even sad ones. The heart remembers and wants to go there to unlock the pain and deal with it; to be set free.

You asked that I not snoop around and I won’t; not without your consent. But remember that unearthing trash or treasure is one of My specialties. Together we can sort what is to be saved and what is to be tossed. Giving Me permission to help you will bring you to freedom and lasting peace. Think about it.

Love,

Jesus

~from Shattered by Suicide

Share your thoughts....

