Are you lost?

 

I must have looked lost as I slowly made my way to my car. I was foolish to think the crowd would be thin this time of day.t be crowded this time of day as I slowly made my way down the aisles. People give a person with a cane some room so all was well on that score, but I must have been walking too slowly as I pushed my cart full of groceries uphill to my car.   Perhaps she thought I couldn’t find my car when she stopped to ask, “Are you lost?”    . to my car after some (foolish) before Thanksgiving shopping. Silly me ~  thinking the crowd would be thin. People give a person with a cane some room so all was well. I must have been walking too slowly, though, as I pushed my loaded cart up the grade to my car which caused a lady to stop and ask, “Are you lost?” Apparently she did not notice the heavy boot I was plodding along in due to post-op surgery. But still it was kind of her to ask.

Years ago we had a dog. He and I would leave the house with him on the leash pulling me along, eager for the next sniff. Once we rounded the corner away from homes and into farm land, I often took him off the leash for some free romping. He’d click up his heels and rush into the wind, long ears flapping.

This particular day, I was aware of a truck approaching while keeping an eye on my dog’s whereabouts. The truck slowed to a stop and a man rolled down his window, “Lady, did you lose your horse?” The question made sense to him since we were sandwiched between horse farms, but sounded silly to my ears with my dog leash in hand, but he was just being neighborly.

Being asked if I was lost gives me pause. Sometimes I do feel lost out of loneliness or pain.

Since this blog exists for the purpose of mending broken hearts, I will ask you some questions: Do you feel lost right now? Feel like you have the weight of the world on your shoulders? Feel alone even when others are around? Perhaps you feel like ending it all? If so, stop right there and listen. We’ve all been in sad, empty, dark places and later when the sun shines again, we are grateful and even feel a little joy to be alive. There are times when I have felt like running away or even taking my life when in a pit of sadness, but those are temporary feelings and not to be indulged. Yes, there are struggles, but we are not in them alone. Even if you feel alone, you are not!  Take these verses as examples:

But we have this treasure in jars of clay [us] to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair, persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed (2 Corinthians 4:7-9)  The god of this age [satan] has blinded minds so that they cannot see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ (vs 4).

God has said, “I will never abandon you or leave you.”  Hebrews 13:5

If you are feeling all alone today in your grief, please look up and see the hand of God reaching down to you. Let Him in to hold you and comfort you for the rest of your life. He loves you unconditionally, with a passion and He will never let go or change His mind. He is your Friend for the asking.

We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love. God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them.  1 John 4:16

Share your thoughts....

