This little light

A triptic of tea light candles.

There is a little song our boys learned to sing in Sabbath School when they were tiny. There were plays, songs and hands-on participation which started as soon as the babies could sit up. The parents got to be adults for an hour and the babies are thoroughly stimulated and totally entertained. The little older children learned to sing songs, act out the movements and participate more. Sabbath School was something our children looked forward from week to week.

One of the little songs they learned is “This Little Light of Mine” and it went something like this. Now don’t get excited. I only remember a couple of repetitious phrases: This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine, this little light of mine I’m going to let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.

 

Of course it’s simple. It’s for wee ones who are barely able to follow instructions at this age. The only other verse I remember or want to include at this time is:  Won’t let satan blow it out, I’m going to let it shine, then it repeats as above. The interactive part was the child holding up his finger and simulating blowing it out. This song as been playing in my mind until I could set at my keyboard and put some ideas down for your consideration.

It struck me. I see for comparisons sake, the life of a child as a candle with the wick lit and the light burning bright and strong from morning until night when it is blown out at bedtime only to be relit in the morning and kept burning all day and evening. The burning candle represents life. If the candle is allowed to burn out, that means the child has died.

If I take the  candle picture from my mind and placed it beside the truth that my son died by suicide. His candle is no longer lit. Who blew his candle out? I didn’t, and as far as I know, no one else did either. Then is it logical that my son blew out his own life candle. Or could there be another possibility? Let’s read again the words to one of the verses of the song:  Won’t let satan blow it out, I’m going to let it shine.

At an early age, someone was teaching the children a song that includes the evils of satan; that he can blow out our candle. The wee ones were learning that Jesus loves them, but also to watch out for satan, the bad guy on earth. This is more than a simple song. There is truth for our understanding.

While I am musing about this allegory, I might as well go all the way and speculate that satan is less interested in blowing out imaginary candles of small children than he is in blowing out the candles of those who are sad, depressed, bullied, can’t stop the pain themselves and see death as the way to end the pain. Perhaps it does not matter who snuffs the candle out, but more like who eggs the discouraged person on with bullying thoughts to their minds until the weakened one just wants it to stop.

It always appears that the one who takes their life by suicide acts alone. I would like to submit that they are not alone. Whoever is lurking in the dark shadows, encouraging them to “just do it” is likely one of satan’s demons on a suicide mission to snuff out the candle of someone who is bright, full of life and has so much to contribute to the world.

For we are not fighting against human beings but against the wicked spiritual forces in the heavenly world, the rulers, authorities, and cosmic powers of this dark age. Ephesians 6:12

 

This entry was posted on January 11, 2013. Bookmark the permalink.