Soaking You Up

Father God, this might sound silly to some people, but You already know that I love to soak in a tub of hot water, and yes . . . a plethora of bubbles is nice too. Add a scented candle with its soft glow and lovely fragrance . . . and You and I can settle in to enjoy some thoughtful, quiet moments together.

English: A cat licking its paw

English: A cat licking its paw (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

Of course, we must allow room in this tranquil setting for the family cat who loves to swipe his paw in the hot water and lick it dry. Not my taste,but apparently he enjoys it.

 

 

Soaking up Your Word is equally as lovely when I dwell on verses of scripture that quiet my aching heart and soothe my troubled spirit. You know what I am referring to, God. Our son passed away a few years ago and his absence is keenly felt in our family. The death of a child causes gut-wrenching, gnawing pain. What would I ever do without You to console me when tears threaten to carry me away like a swollen river?

 

 

 

Thank You, gracious Father, for collecting my tears in Your bottle. It’s just like You to keep track of the hairs on my head too. With that kind of counting, You show such tender regard for every inch of me.

 

 

 

Though I walk through the [deep, sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort me.  Psalm 23:4

 

 

 

~shared from “Shattered by Suicide”

 

 

 

This entry was posted on January 18, 2013. Bookmark the permalink.