Twice baptized

One of our fur ball brothers was the more inquisitive of the two when we brought them home. Bogey was the leader then, but now he wouldn’t dream of exploring the water sights in his digs now. He has great respect for the wet stuff. In fact, he runs and hides at any sound, poor baby. But he has grown into a gentle adult cat who loves being petted if you are family. Others? Not so much.

But as a kitten, he was fearless and absolutely fascinated by water. Whenever I drew a bath, both Bogey and Bailey would show up for a ring-side seat. I guess they loved the sound of the water filling the tub. I must admit, I like it too. Both kittens would hop up on the edge of the tub and sit and watch or walk back and forth on the edge. Ever the guarding mother, I would poise to retrieve if one . . . or both took an accidental nose dive into the drink.

One evening I was drawing a bath. Little inquisitive Bogey was watching from the sidelines. Little kittens + slick tub + slick toilet seat = a  disaster waiting to happen. Hit the pause button. Let’s look at what Wikipedia has to say to give us a vision for the phrase:

A picture is worth a thousand words.  [Which] refers to the notion that a complex idea can be conveyed with just a single still image. It also aptly characterizes one of the main goals of visualization, namely making it possible to absorb large amounts of data quickly.”

My version would include a video of what happens next since my brain would like to slow down each scene, review it over and over, share it with friends for laughs and mail it in for a $10,000 reward, but you don’t care about that. So back to the story.

Picture Bogey perched on the slippery tub’s edge. He’s leaning in. He has his momma behind him, poised to retrieve. Seconds later he hits the water with a splash. I reach for him. Missed! Before I can grab at him again, he jumps up and sails a perfect arch landing him, not on a dry spot of safety as planned, but back into the drink again . . . and this one’s as cold as the other was hot . . . you guessed it. The toilet bowl. Cats don’t usually like water, right? Neither does Bogey (he found out) and just as quickly as he landed in the toilet, he sprung up like he had coiled-spring legs and and jumped toward the exit door in one giant-sized leap for a tiny kitten and scampered to safety. Bogey would live to see another day. That incident was never repeated and our traumatized Bogey rarely approaches the scene of his baptism again.

John Baptizes Jesus

The Baptism of Jesus

The Baptism of Jesus                                          (Photo credit: Travis S.)

13 Then Jesus appeared. He came from Galilee to the Jordan River to be baptized by John. 14 But John tried to stop him and said, “I need to be baptized by you. Why are you coming to me?”

15 Jesus answered him, “This is the way it has to be now. This is the proper way to do everything that God requires of us.”

Then John gave in to him.16 After Jesus was baptized, he immediately came up from the water. Suddenly, the heavens were opened, and he saw the Spirit of God coming down as a dove to him.17 Then a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love—my Son with whom I am pleased.”  Matthew 3:13-17

Wow! What a baptism! I wish I had been standing in the water when John baptized Jesus and then heard God’s voice rumble through the heavens. Awesome!

Bogey won’t follow me into the tub. He’s been well baptized and besides, he does not understand its purpose anyway, but we do. We follow after the One who is Creator, Master, Redeemer and Friend. I will follow Him anywhere.

