Encouragement for the bumpy ride

Jesus began, “Watch out for doomsday deceivers. Many leaders are going to show up with forged identities claiming, ‘I’m the One.’ They will deceive a lot of people. When you hear of wars and rumored wars, keep your head and don’t panic. This is routine history, and no sign of the end. Nation will fight nation and ruler fight ruler, over and over. Earthquakes will occur in various places. There will be famines. But these things are nothing compared to what’s coming.  Mark 13:5-8, The Message  

Doomsday warnings. Not what we gravitate to, but it is truth.We witness death by nature played out on our global stage every day, don’t we? I can shield myself from most of it by staying safely behind closed doors in a warm house with plenty to eat and a roof over my head. But if I turn on the the world news, tragedy is unavoidable. It hurts my heart. How it must hurt the heart of God who sees it all.

Open Bible with pen

Open Bible                                                             (Photo credit: Ryk Neethling)

I read these words this morning found in my NIV Worship Bible tucked in the heart of the book of John, entitled, “My Beloved”. I will share the entire passage. It is comforting, encouraging and reassuring. May it encourage you as well.

“I have made many promises to you, and My Word is true. What I have spoken will come to pass.

The evil one comes to you only to steal, kill and destroy. There is nothing good that can come from him. He will endeavor to trick you into believing differently, but be aware of his desire to see that you are destroyed.

Jesus has come that you may have life, and have it to the fullest! In fact, My beloved, every good and perfect gift is from Me. It originates with Me and passes to you through My Son.

I have given you very great and precious promises. Through these promises you may participate in My divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. Everything you need for life and godliness is available to you through My Son. Through faith in Him, you will be able to have a life that represents My heart.

Be assured that I am faithful. I do not change My mind later regarding My promises. I do not say first “yes” and then later “no.” I am faithful to you! What I have promised, I will provide.

So rejoice in My promises like one who finds great [treasure]. Believe My promises and sing praises to My name. You will see their fulfillment because, through faith in My Son, Jesus, you believe them. My Word is true!”

Is 15:29; Ps 106:12; 119:162; 145:13; Jn 10:10; 2Co 1:19-20; Gal 3:22; Jas 1:17; 2Pe 1:3-4

Share your thoughts....

