The needing blanket

For we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus [the leaning of your entire human personality on Him in absolute trust and confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness] and of the love which you [have and show] for all the saints (God’s consecrated ones).  Colossians 1:4, amp

Feather, the cat, purring and kneading her fav...

Feather, a Pipy look alike, purring and kneading her favorite blanket. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why to they do it? Don’t know about your felines, but mine, ALL  of them, like to knead soft stuff before they lie down on it. Are they tenderizing? Long ago memories of kneading on mama cat? One of our cats whose name is not Feather, but one equally as noble, prefers to knead on me. There are too many muffin tops to choose from and frankly the reminder that I have them does not make me smile. (If cat-paw action broke up fat, then this would be an entirely different conversation and perhaps one that could lead to a Noble prize in medicine.)

But I must say, I prefer they knead on other stuff than on me. Some months ago, we received a surprise gift from a dear friend. She had taken hours of her precious time to knit us a soft and cozy blanket; one that begs to be curled up under with a book in hand. But desperate times call for desperate measures so when the purring begins and there’s a glazed look in his  eyes that says, “I want you, babe and you’re all mine”, I pet him and then pile up our cozy hand-knitted blanket and wedge it between me and “Mr. groping paws”.

Like the cats, I have needed much more comforting  the last few years than during the first half of my life. Recovery from suicide is impossible the way I look at it. It’s more of a life-long journey with my hand in His. I need His lifeline. I need His power. I need His comfort. I need His understanding. I need His acceptance. I need His peace. I guess this means I need Him to be my everything that no one else can be. Even if they also have suffered the loss of someone to suicide, we recognize we are in the same boat, but we don’t move through the rapids with the same oars.

If I had my way, right now, right today, I’d be curled up on God’s lap with His handmade blanket wrapped tightly around me. It would be our time; just the two of us and all my needs would evaporate with His tender touch.

The humble shall see it and be glad; you who seek God, inquiring for and requiring Him [as your first need], let your hearts revive and live!  Psalm 69:32, amp

 

 

 

 

 

Share your thoughts....

