Hand to hand

I trust my daddy

(Photo credit: Nanynany)

 

I cling to You, and Your hand keeps me safe.  Psalm 63:8

 

Hands. They are beautiful, whether tiny and new or fragile or gnarled and worn. They work. They play. They touch and caress. They breathe life into relationships and wipe tears away when pain overwhelms. One fourth of all our bones are in the hand; all 27 of them working together to enrich our lives.

I used my hands to greet my firstborn son. His tiny fist so precious. And when his tiny fingers first squeezed my pinkie finger, it was as if time stopped to capture the moment; one of the precious moments in time that take our breath away.

His hands loved to draw, create, take apart and put back together again. Hands that would eventually carry out a bad decision after suffering silent and deadly pain. My hands covered my face as I crumbled to the floor, screaming in agony . . .

If we are so unfortunate as to outlive a child we have adored since birth, it’s as if time stops in its tracks once again. To look upon the face; pale in spite of makeup, the eyelashes no longer flutter as they do in deep sleep, the chest no longer rises and falls with evidence of life. His hands, crossed in a stately manner, but so unlike my son in life. I could not deny those beautiful hands, still exquisite in their form. I could not deny the faint scars from surgery some years back. No. I could not deny this boy. Even though I wanted to scream and run from the room, I could not deny this boy, even in death.

 

Lord, how do we survive without them? How do we thrive without them in our lives? Perhaps it begins when we reach for Your hand to hold; warm and strong and pulsing with life. Perhaps when we listen for Your calming, comforting words whispered in our ear.

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10  

When the sun was setting, the people brought to Jesus all who had various kinds of sickness, and laying His hands on each one, He healed them. Luke 4:40

My Father, who has given them [you]to Me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them [you] out of My Father’s hand.  John 10:29

 

 

Share your thoughts....

