Marbles . . .

Heal me, O Lord, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for You are the one I praise.  Jeremiah 17:14

I love this verse. And I loved marbles when I was a kid. I loved the glass ones that you could see the colored designs inside. I loved to roll them between my hands, enjoying their smoothness. I don’t remember playing a game with marbles as much as I enjoyed collecting as many different ones as I could. I don’t have a collection now; just the memory.

Marbles

(Photo credit: Crazy House Capers)

But when ideas roll around in my head; seeming to be chasing one another, I call them “marbles”. Marbles of thought. Okay. You can stop grinning now. This may not be your way of thinking, but it is my description and I’m sticking to it. Now I’m grinning. Okay, so on with the blog.

The marbles of thought that have been chasing one another around in my head are the key words in the verse above: healed and saved or forgiven. Which would you rather have if you had to choose between the two? Hold your answer while we join a story in progress.

In Mark 2, Jesus is preaching and healing in Capernaum. The place was jam packed with people wanting to hear Him and others also wanting to be healed. Four men brought their paralytic friend to Jesus to be healed. There was no way they could get to Jesus in the normal fashion so they climbed up on the flat room and tore away the tiles making a hole large enough to lower their friend in front of Jesus. “When Jesus saw their faith, He said to the paralytic, ‘Son, your sins are forgiven.'” Mark 2:5

It was obvious to the crowd that the man needed physical healing, but what did they know of his spiritual needs? Nothing was a secret to Jesus. “Affliction had given [the man] time for reflection, and he had come to realize that his own sins were responsible for his suffering. It was to these sins, which now weighed so heavily on his mind, that Jesus referred. The paralytic came seeking for health of soul as well as for healing of body. He was physically helpless and spiritually hopeless, until he presented his case to Jesus, who provided both help and hope.” (Desire of Ages, Ellen White)

Perhaps there’s no need for marble chasing in my mind. Jesus came to save us while yet in our sins. He knows all our needs: body, mind and heart. If I only ask  Him to heal my body, what good is that? I think I’d rather have Him forgive me of my sins if I had to choose. My body will be healed, rather, transformed when Jesus returns. We will all be brand new in the blink of an eye! And I don’t think we will ever be asked to choose between healing and forgiveness. Jesus willingly gives both.

In a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.  1 Corinthians 15:52

Share your thoughts....

