Dog watch

After saying this, he was taken up into a cloud while they were watching, and they could no longer see him. Acts 1:9

Ginger shares a moment with my granddaughter P...

I walked out of a store, pushing my load of groceries . . . spent too much as usual. Got to my car and realized there was a dog in the car parked next to  mine. “He” was in the driver’s seat facing the side window where he could have the best position. He was focused. Ears forward. Body tense and eyes straight ahead. He could have been a statue; he was so still. I thought he might look at me as I got closer and perhaps bark, but no. He did not look at me. He was staring at the place where his master had disappeared inside. Nothing could distract him from his top priority and that was to see his master’s return.

Christ‘s boys stared up, up, up, straining to catch one final glimpse of their Master who was ascending to heaven. They would never see Him again this side of heaven.  We read the gospels from the pens of these men who walked and talked with Jesus for over 3 years. They passed the promise along so that you and I could read those words carved on the landscape of history and printed in His Word.

I need to be focused too, don’t I Lord? I people watch, but do I watch for You to return?

[And Jesus said to the disciples] “And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” From all points of the compass. From sea to shining sea there is someone to share His love with.

As they strained to see him rising into heaven, two white-robed men suddenly stood among them. “Men of Galilee,” they said, “why are you standing here staring into heaven? Jesus has been taken from you into heaven, but someday he will return from heaven in the same way you saw him go!” Acts 1:8, 10-11

“If only my words were written in a book— better yet, chiseled in stone! Still, I know that God lives . . . and eventually he’ll take his stand on earth. And I’ll see him . . . with my very own eyes. Oh, how I long for that day!  Job 19:23-27

Me too, Job. Me too.

2 thoughts on “Dog watch

  1. Great reminder to keep our eyes on the Lord and not be distracted by this world and its problems. Thank you for your inspiring words.

Share your thoughts....

