Pure white powder

A blanket of snow

A blanket of snow                                                 (Photo credit: rkramer62)

We received our first real snow of the season; a thick, white blanket dropped silently in the night. The kind of snow that clings to every tree limb, high wire and fence rail. Pure white graced the landscape as far as I could see which pretty much is the street I live on. I slogged around in my boots, taking pictures before tracks could spoil the pristine fluff. All fallen limbs and other debris were completely covered. Even the fallen tree looked good. All perfect.

Wow. So unlike me. Pocked, scarred and imperfect inside and out. But I can get down on myself so we don’t need to dig further. But the beauty of white doesn’t end with a covering of snow which will soon melt into the ground. The beauty spiritually is just beginning.

Remove my sin, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.  Psalm 51:7

In the middle of this pristine picture do I dare bring in the color red, as in red blood? Why here? Blood is sticky, icky  painful and besides, it stains your clothes. In the text above, white represents sin removal. So does the color red also represent sin removal? Check out John 1:29, “The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold! The Lamb of God [whose blood] takes away the sin of the world! 
When I was young, we sang songs like “Are You Washed in the Blood of the Lamb?” and I paid no attention to their meaning. It was nasty. But as I have grown up, older and deeper in my relationship with Jesus, I realize the absolute necessity of being washed clean in the blood of Jesus shed on Calvary‘s cross. He died that I might live. Simple as that and just as profound . . . for all of us!
God is faithful and reliable. If we confess our sins, he forgives them and cleanses us from everything we’ve done wrong (1 John 1:9). He forgives. And then, pardon my paraphrase, he attaches weights on each sin confessed and they silently sink to the bottom of the deep, blue sea never to be seen or heard from again. Now don’t plan a deep-sea diving trip. There’s a “No Fishing” sign posted. We ask for forgiveness and turn away in faith that we are forgiven. We can now forget. Jesus already has.
3 thoughts on “Pure white powder

    • You are so welcome. Our God leaves no stone untouched to reach His children. I have promised to be willing . . . but He writes the words. Thank you for reading and commenting. It let’s me know there is someone out there. 🙂

      Blessings to you.

Share your thoughts....

