Suffering in the Presence of Joy

Psalm 13:5

Psalm 13:5 (Photo credit: [Share the Word])

Lord, I am hungry for joy; resilient, jubilant, bubbling joy. Not the fairytale stuff, but the deep peace of abiding comfort in spite of all the jilted dreams and tragedies of life. I know You know what I mean, even if I can’t quite find the right words, because Your Word is chock full of joy verses! If I put them altogether and read them will I then have what I seek?

I’ll give it a try.

The revelation of God is whole and pulls our lives together. The signposts of God are clear and point out the right road. The life-maps of God are right, showing the way to joy. The directions of God are plain and easy on the eyes. God’s reputation is twenty-four-carat gold, with a lifetime guarantee. The decisions of God are accurate down to the nth degree.  Psalm 19:7-9

You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy.  Psalm 30:11

You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of Your presence and the pleasures of living with You forever.  Psalm 16:11

Lord, if You could feel joy in the midst of such agony and torture on the cross, You will give me strength to feel joy while I wait in eager anticipation for the coming resurrection morning!

Weeping may last through the night, but joy will come in the morning.  Psalm 30:5

~from Shattered by Suicide

Share your thoughts....

