Hair

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”  ~Reinhold Niebuhr

You would probably not want my hair. It too easily takes on a life of its own and I have spent most of my life trying to make it into something it is not. My hair has curl. I want straight. My hair is fine and thin. I want thick. I am naturally drab brown. I want to be naturally blond with all the beauty and highlights in a child’s hair. Dream on, old girl.

"Cheeeeeeese"

“Cheeeeeeese” (Photo credit: Ani-Bee)

Poor beauticians.  They’ve tried everything in their experience to shape my hair into a current or even old style to no avail. Some have left me with a bubble head ~ some of you may remember when that style was popular. Some have tried, with my coaxing, to get it to grow out long enough to straighten, to no avail. One guy (had the nerve) to loudly proclaim that my head was covered with annoying “cow licks” and he had no idea how to cut it. Needless to say, I have been there twice ~ first and last.

When I was little my mother would curl my damp hair around her finger and my head would be covered in long curls, much to my sister’s annoyance. She was stuck with rag curls (sorry if you are too young to know what those were) and she hated them. I guess if pulled too tightly they hurt. My hair has returned to naturally curly. Call it hormones? Call it returning to childhood? I could hate it still or learn to accept it. Since I am learning to accept many things in my life, perhaps hair can be scratched off that list. Besides, I love my dad and I got my natural bent from him. He had a beautiful wave right above his widow’s peak hairline. So I choose to accept my curls. After all, no perms are necessary. I get it for free.

Our personalities are as different as our hair is in styles, textures and shades. Our lives are stacks of building blocks that we have added and tossed throughout our lives which has shaped us into what we are today. Not perfect, but growing. Not stationary, but moving. ~ evolving if you prefer. This process is not bad, in fact it is spiritual and I choose to learn and grow into the child God has called me to be. He’s patient with me, so I guess that means I should be patient with me . . . and you too. And learn to accept the things I cannot change.

 Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.  Luke 12:7

Share your thoughts....

