A bridge to somewhere

God continually surprises me. Why I should be surprised I don’t know. After all, He knows everything and I know so little. Sometimes He builds a bridge when I least expect it. I have been known to make blanket statements like, “he’ll never do that again” . . . and he does, or “that friendship is over” . . . and it isn’t.

Two friends

Two friends (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Perhaps my absolutes are God’s challenges. I viewed a movie that I really liked. It was the kind of movie I wanted to share with friends, girl friends. So I bought the movie so I could enjoy watching again and again. When it came in the mail, I made contact with a friend that I rarely see anymore. Would she be interested in a girl’s night? We’d sip and snack and watch this movie favorite. Had she seen it? No, she hadn’t so we made plans to get together a couple of weeks later.

As the evening approached, another person’s name kept popping into my head. She too, had not been on my radar screen for a while. The three of us had often enjoyed each other’s company, but over time and with life’s changes, we had not kept up our friendship. I ignored the prompting thinking that one on one would be better and I would invite the other friend for a future date. But the prompting continued.  I ignored it. My reasoning was better. More prompting. My invited friend would be here in an hour. Got prompted again. Finally assuming this was God’s doing and He was not going to take “no” for an answer, I made a last minute call to the second friend. She picked up the phone. She sounded tired, but said after taking a pain pill she probably could manage.

Pain pill? What was that all about? Come to find out, she had surgery a few days before. I had failed to notice the information shared on Facebook, so I was caught by surprise. Two of us settled her in a comfy chair with drinks and food and pillows. We chatted like old times and watched the movie which all three of us enjoyed and laughed together in all the same places. It was like there were no gaps of time lost in our friendship.

Since I had already watched the movie, God took the opportunity to help me see what he had just done. He had insisted on me inviting the second friend because he knew that she could use some comic relief at a time when her body was in pain. He had built a bridge to connect old friends. Perhaps it will continue. Perhaps there are people in your life that you may be impressed to reach out to. Listen and respond. Perhaps God wants to build a bridge to somewhere in your life too.

I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.  John 15:15

Share your thoughts....

