On aging gracefully

Cover of "Calendar Girls"

Cover of Calendar Girls

“The flowers of Yorkshire are like the women of Yorkshire. In each phase of their lives they become more radiant, but the last phase is their most glorious . . . [and then they go to seed].”  ~John Baker (quote from the movie, Calendar Girls.)

John Baker was a real person with a real life in Yorkshire, England. Then cancer came and a real battle ensued until it took his life, but before he died, he shared these beautiful words with his lovely wife, who after his death wanted to raise money for something to provide for additional seating for friends and families who spend so much time with their loved one in  the Leukemia wing of the hospital where she had spent so much time with John. It’s a good movie ~ if you can handle a wee bit of skin.

Speaking of skin, mine has stretched to cover my growing muffin top ~ which truthfully I fear has gone to seed. It’s difficult for me to see how this stage of life is most glorious. I know what I need ~ I need to trade my sweet tooth in for a savory pallet. Perhaps God has this in mind for me in His long range goal for my life. Every low in my experience as driven me (yep, I’m back behind the wheel) to seek something sweet to quench the painful reminders when my heart shattered like splintering glass several years ago when tragedy struck me down. I fell of the shelf and crashed into a million pieces. No repair possible. God would have to recreate me and thankfully He has begun a good work in me.

A blueberry muffin in a paper muffin cup.

A blueberry muffin. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But back to the muffin top which seems to have taken on a life of it’s own. I know I choose what goes in. and when I give in the pallet yells, “more, more!” My spirit is weak, but He is strong. He won’t take it out of my hand, but first I have to unclench my fist to get my hand out of the cookie jar! Enough said? If you can relate out there in cyber world, here’s where we can mentor each other ~ when I am weak, you are strong and the one to give advice. Victory will be sweet enough.

He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.  Philippians 1:6

11 thoughts on “On aging gracefully

  1. I am really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any
    web browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in
    Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have
    any recommendations to help fix this issue?

  2. you’re actually a good webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a great job in this topic!

  3. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering troubles
    with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t join it. Is there anyone else getting the same RSS problems?
    Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond?

    Thanks!!

  4. I’ve been browsing online greater than 3 hours as of late, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is beautiful price sufficient for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    • Dear Friend,

      You were led to search until you found something that touched you deeply and for that, we thank God and His Holy Spirit for it is through this power that I write. I, alone, can hardly write my name, but by God’s amazing grace, this blog is intended to reach out to the hurting, the grieving, the exhausted. And at times, we are all there, aren’t we? Keep searching and may God guide you each day. And thanks for your comment. You made my day!

      Gracie

Share your thoughts....

