In step with friendship

I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.  John 15:15

Friends are special gifts, especially those who will walk beside us thru thick or thin. Some can’t stay after tragedy. I miss them, but I understand that not all folks are meant for the long haul. Some go in and out of our lives leaving footprints in our hearts that may leave both good and not so good memories behind. I have learned during this grief walk that friends do come and go, but no matter how long they stay, I always seem to have at least one who is a heart-2-heart friend. I call this a “God thing”. For He seems to bring someone along side who may have suffered tragedy like mine or tragedy of a different variety. No matter. They are willing to be “real”; to go deeper in the heart than an a mere acquaintance. If they ask, “How are you?” They mean, “How are you ~ really.” And they sincerely want to know and be a part of your life.

Friendship, Göteborg, Sweden

Friendship, Göteborg, Sweden (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Good friends come in all shapes and sizes; from younger to older. It does not matter. What does matter is that they have a heart that desires to be connected to our heart. They may be just a phone friend I have not yet met in person or they may be someone I have known of for years, but never got passed a friendly wave.

Recently God has brought a new friend along side. She was seeking to make a friendship contact from among her church members. I had no idea we would be hooked up since I was not looking and had only recently joined her church. After a few formalities and light conversation we both realized that we had many things in common, not the least of which we both like to walk. It so happens that I have a nice park nearby with wide, paved sidewalks, so the stage was set.

If you are struggling to make a friend, ask God to bring one. I’m not kidding! He cares about the details in our lives. He can provide someone who listens, who enjoys the same things you enjoy and who can be there for you when the bottom drops out of your life. Jesus knows we need God “with skin on” and He will provide.

I love this quote from Max Lucado. He puts words together than are clear to my mind and go deep into my heart. Perhaps this will be meaningful for you today. It’s all about the names of Jesus, our Friend.

“And the more God’s people came to know him, the more names they gave him.  Elohim, strong one or creator.  Jehovah-raah, a caring shepherd. Jehovah-jireh, the Lord who provides. These are just a few of the names of God which describe his character.  Study them, for in a given day, you may need each one of them. God, the shepherd who leads, the Lord who provides, the voice who brings peace in the storm, the physician who heals the sick, the banner that guides. And most of all…He Is!”

~The Great House of God

Share your thoughts....

