If only . . .

I heard an interesting statement recently from a movie. It was said during a conversation between mother and grown daughter. It has been rolling around in my head since and I wonder if you think it is true or just Hallmark’s clever use of words? Also ~ does it relate to Joni’s comments below? Please, dear readers, share your thoughts?  Here is how mother responded to her daughter:  “A mother is only as happy as her saddest child.”  Hmmm.

Shared from Joni and Friends ~

Arcadia Child My photos that have a creative c...

Arcadia Child (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority.”  Colossians 2:9-1

Life Would Be Great If Only . . .

“What do quadriplegics (people whose hands and legs are paralyzed) daydream about? Running a marathon? Ballroom dancing? Climbing a mountain? Many of us have scaled down our fantasies. In my weaker moments, I’m tempted to think life would be great if only I were a paraplegic — then I could use my hands. I see paraplegics transfer themselves out of their wheelchairs into their own beds, reach for items in the refrigerator, wash dishes at a sink and quickly sort through the mail. Then old feelings of disappointment start to slink back into my heart.

Even able-bodied people look at others who seem more attractive, smarter, richer, healthier, and who get all the breaks in life. In comparison, our minor defects begin to look like deformities. Thankfully, the Bible has good advice for people prone to compare. Paul tells us we have been given “fullness in Christ.” In other words, we are complete in Him. We have everything. We lack nothing. There’s no need to compare. Once we comprehend this truth, our so-called defects become reminders of how “full” we are — because we have “fullness in Christ.” The inferiority complex releases its grip. We become content.

In what ways do you feel incomplete, inadequate, or less than you had hoped? Rather than seeing these as insufficiencies, realize you are lacking in nothing. Why? Because Christ dwells in you.   Bask in that knowledge for a few, quiet moments and feel yourself relax into contentedness.

Lord, help me to keep from drumming up “if only” scenarios in my mind. Fill my thoughts with satisfaction in You and in whom You have fashioned me to be.”

Share your thoughts....

