Pocketful of Grace

Simon Peter said to Jesus, “Lord, don’t wash only my feet. Wash my hands and my head too!”  John 13:9

Jesus Washes the Feet of the Disciples

Jesus washes disciples feet (Photo credit: Scott Schram)

I agree with Peter’s words in His moment with His Lord. He wanted a hose down, a head-to-toe contact with Jesus. Me too. Showers of blessings from above. Drenched. Eyes blinking from the downpour. Both cleansed and refreshed and tapped off with a long, tender hug from our Friend. I never get enough of Him. Perhaps you feel this way too?

About this time one year ago, I started blogging. I wanted to share hope with hurting hearts and that desire has not abated. There continues a deep longing within me to connect with God; sharing His Word in bite-sized morsels with others. God says to taste and see that He is good (Psalm 34:8). There are always new ways to share His Love  that touches us where we live, work, and feel. Not only do I want to reach out to hurting hearts, but also glorify God in the process. The book, “Shattered by Suicide, My Conversations with God After the Tragic Death of My  Son” (I know. Long title) was and continues to be God’s project. Who it touches is known only to Him. I really can’t say “only” known by Him, because He has let me in on the connections the Holy Spirit makes sometimes which is always a huge encouragement. Praise His Name!

And so God and I continue to blog. It is both humbling and exciting to realize that over 300 posts have been blogged so far! How did that happen? It may not be a surprise to you, but it sure is to me. The more friends join, the more deeply I desire to write with purpose and be open to your comments and suggestions. What questions would you like addressed? We all have pain, but it’s uniquely our own and most of us have a longing to be able to share with someone who “gets us” and “get’s it“. Those in pain are too exhausted to have to teach others how to treat them. May this continue to be an appointment by “Divine Design” that reaches where you hurt or scratches where you itch. As you are blessed, please pass the blessing along. Let’s keep spreading the Good News!

Our hearts may be broken. Our spirits shattered. We may see ourselves as too messed up to start again. God is always with us, friend. He’s always looking in our direction. Your pockets aren’t empty. They are full of good things from the Lord. Let’s continue to walk daily in His Presence; letting Him guide our steps, words, thoughts and actions. We are never alone. Get that? We may be spurned by those we have considered friends, but God will never leave. He is a Forever Friend. That’s His promise and He keeps His Word. Accept His washing today. Accept His showers of blessings. Let’s be open to the little ways He let’s us know He cares.

~Lord, not only my feet, but my hands, head and heart need to be showered with your perfect love, mercy and grace.

Share your thoughts....

