Still . . . “Falling Unto Mercy”

My best dog ever, j'ai nommé : P.o.u.k.a :)

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“His mercy extends beyond my brokenness.” Kay Warren, New Life Live radio ministry

I love God because He listened to me, listened as I begged for mercy. He listened so intently as I laid out my case before him. Death stared me in the face, hell was hard on my heels. Up against it, I didn’t know which way to turn; then I called out to God for help: “Please, God!” I cried out. “Save my life!” God is gracious—it is He who makes things right, our most compassionate God. God takes the side of the helpless; when I was at the end of my rope, He saved me.  Psalm 116:1-6, The Message

Loving Father,

I have probably called to You for mercy more in the last few years since we lost our son than all the other years put together. I don’t think that I really understood what it was either . . . but now I do . . . and oh how I need it.

Webster defines “mercy” with such words as: refrain from doing harm, forgiveness, kindness, or blessing ~ but nothing defines mercy better than all the promises that can be mined throughout Your Word. Each one is rich with meaning and eloquently stated:

“But I have trusted, leaned on, and been confident in Your mercy and loving kindness; my heart shall rejoice and be in high spirits in Your salvation.”  Psalm 13:5

“God Most High, have pity on me! Have mercy. I run to You for safety. In the shadow of Your wings, I seek protection till danger dies down.”  Psalm 57:1-3

“My eyes are blinded by my tears. Each day I beg for Your help. O Lord; I lift my hands to You for mercy.”  Psalm 89:9

“For the mountains may move and the hills disappear, but even then My faithful love for you will remain. My covenant of blessing will never be broken, says the Lord, who has mercy on you.”  Isaiah 54:10

“O give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; for His mercy and loving-kindness endure forever!”  1 Chronicles 16:34

shared from ~ “Shattered by Suicide, My Conversations with God After the Tragic Death of My Son”

2 thoughts on “Still . . . “Falling Unto Mercy”

  1. What is said here is so true for me too ~
    I have cried out to God thru my broken & crushed heart & soul more since I lost my dear son Ronnie ~ than thru all else that this life has handed me.
    God’s mercy truly does extend beyond my brokenheartedness
    .

    • Yes, we cry out in different ways and for different reasons. We cry out in our loss. Others cry out as pain roars through their bodies. The earth is indeed waxing old like a garment. May our trials soon be over and eternity begin. Thank you, friend, for sharing.

Share your thoughts....

