Eyes watching

Grocery carts

Grocery carts (Photo credit: Polycart)

“Now all the earth is bright and glad with the fresh morn; but all my heart is cold, and dark and sad. Sun of the soul, let me behold thy dawn! Come, Jesus, Lord, O quickly come, according to thy word.”  ~from a devotional by Charles Spurgeon

The work day had finally ended and I was on my way home. Driving by a grocery story, a bell rang in my head I need a few things to make dinner. You’ve been there ~  gotta to do this or that after leaving the career job in order to begin the real job at home. Right? Once home, I never wanted to go back out again, so pressed for time with hungry mouths waiting for food to be dropped in . . . I grabbed a cart from the corral and rushed inside the store to do my shopping.

Minutes later I emerged with bags full of necessities and things I didn’t know I needed. Relief. That’s done. Now get home, I muttered half aloud.  Kids will be famished and expect dinner on the table as soon as I walk through the door. I unloaded the bags into the trunk, quickly pushed the cart back into the corral, got in my car and pulled out into heavy traffic . . . no doubt also heading home with the same expectations.  Okay. This was my time to settle into the seat and listen to the radio and relax a little. Per habit I reached to the right for my purse and . . . it was not there. I looked. No purse! Oh, know! I must have left it in the cart! My heart began to thud loudly in my chest.

Not being in a U-turn friendly stretch of road, it took me what felt like hours to finally be heading back to the store. “God,” I pleaded, “please let my purse be there.” But the nasty voice in my head taunted,  what’s the likelihood of that happening in this neighborhood? Someone might turn it in or more likely, take it and run! Doubts and fearful thoughts pummeled my brain: the dread of having to replace credit cards, having cash and other valuables stolen. But I kept praying.

I drove into the parking lot frantically looking in the direction of the cart corral where I had parked. Oh, there it was . . . and I could see someone had parked in my spot. It was a woman, an elderly woman just sitting behind the wheel in her car. I pulled up beside her, parked and got out. By now, I saw that my purse was still in the cart where I had left it. I walked quickly to retrieve it. She rolled down her window.

“I’ve been watching it,” she spoke in a lilting brogue. “I knew you’d come back so I stayed in my car, waiting for you to return.”

Of course, I couldn’t thank her enough. Her words took my breath away. As I headed home once again, they kept playing in my mind. I knew you’d come back so I  stayed right here waiting for you.

Time has passed, but this story remains fresh in my mind. Does it have a higher purpose for sharing? It reminds me that the Creator watches over His little sparrows and notes if one falls. If God cares for the sparrows so much, does he care about you and me? His Word says, “yes”.

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And [yet] not one of them is forgotten or uncared for in the presence of God. Luke 12:6  Fear not, then; you are of more value than many sparrows.  Matthew 10:3 But [even] the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not be struck with fear or seized with alarm; you are of greater worth than many [flocks] of sparrows. Luke 12:7

One could read these verses and feel compared to our fine feathered friends and perhaps think, well, humans have higher intelligence and therefore should not be compared to sparrows. In my humble opinion, the God of the Universe has made everything, forgetting no detail. He gives understanding to all creatures and they do just as he instructs them. He watches over all his children right down to the last hair count. That boggles my mind. No person on earth knows how many hairs I have on my head including me, but God does. I love how he watches over us all.

For the eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous (those who are upright and in right standing with God), and His ears are attentive to their prayer. But the face of the Lord is against those who practice evil [to oppose them, to frustrate, and defeat them].  1 Peter 3:12, AMP

A kind stranger sat in her car watching my purse because she expected me to return! What a solemn reminder to never stop watching and waiting for Jesus to return. And therein lies our hope.

3 thoughts on “Eyes watching

  1. Thank’s for this reminder of what the Bible says about our value & of ones who have died & left their loved ones behind ~
    I suppose I know this is true .
    But the facts of the word of God do not comfort my broken heart in the slightest ~ nor make the hope & promise of being re-united with my dear sons make living without them in the here and now one whit easier .
    Oh, sure I can speak to others of the ‘hope’ of a Christian in these matters ~
    Yet,
    It is not a comfort to my human existence .
    Anyway ~
    This is one of the FEW safe places I can be real and transparent , without judgement ~ for I suspect all who come here understand the language of a broken heart.

    • My dear friend,

      Surely it is a walk by faith and not by sight? I must trust in the Words of Jesus and those He entrusted with His truth when He returned to heaven. They died believing without knowing. They chose to trust His word rather than man’s and many died because they would not give Him up. His disciples died for their faith, did they not? Even though I don’t like living without my son, eternity will be far longer than our short time on earth. I know our days can be long, but we will look back one day and say, “It was cheap enough.”

      In His grip,

      Gracie

Share your thoughts....

