Calm waters of His grace

For You shaped me, inside and out. You knitted me together in my mother’s womb long before I took my first breath.

There is something soothing about calm water, isn’t there? Unlike the roar and crash of waves upon the shore, this water is serene, cool, calming. Doesn’t the picture invite us to dive into the beautiful blue this minute? Ahhh. How lovely. I can see myself relaxing in the hammock with the sun on my face, a cooling breeze, and of course, “maid” service to quench my thirst.

10552577_10203580707390955_5750591259488752040_n

God and you in calm waters

But there is another thirst that perhaps we don’t think about very often. It is a heart thirst; a longing to have our deep well filled and satisfied. I don’t speculate why your deep well is empty, but if you are surviving the death of someone you loved and planned to grow old with or you are surviving a precious child you didn’t expect to outlive, you know this empty well deep within your soul.

Each heart on this earth has been created with a longing for something greater than itself. Does that make sense? Perhaps this text will shed more light:

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He also has planted eternity in men’s [and women’s] hearts and minds (a divinely implanted sense of a purpose working through the ages which nothing under the sun but God alone can satisfy).  Ecclesiastes 3:11, AMP

This text is rich with meaning. It says that our Creator designed us specifically to long for heaven; to not be satisfied with things of earth. We hunger and thirst for something better. We have a need to worship and adore. Certainly we can make wrong choices and find ourselves still empty. God and God alone can fill up our deep well within our souls. Only He can satisfy the longing heart.

Recently I had the opportunity to relax in a warm water pool with just me and the physical therapy assistant. It was my job to concentrate on relaxing in the quiet and warmth so I did. I closed my eyes and imagined I was in the picture above while he worked gently on strained muscles, coaxing them to let go of years of stress. I couldn’t crawl back into my mother’s womb, but I could imagine being enveloped in warmth, snuggled and content.

In this hi-stress environment called “life” we’d all welcome a break, wouldn’t we? Those of us on a grief journey often feel that we are highly sensitized to the sights and sounds that instead of calming us, they sound more like screeches of over-stimulation. We reach for something to take the edge off in an attempt to satisfy the soul’s craving for inner peace.

 I will offer You my grateful heart, for I am Your unique creation, filled with wonder and awe. You have approached even the smallest details with excellence; Your works are wonderful; I carry this knowledge deep within my soul.  Psalm 139:13-14, VOICE

4 thoughts on “Calm waters of His grace

Share your thoughts....

