Words are Weapons

Speak Kindly by HolleyGerth.com

We’ve often written on social media our concern about words and how others use them in ways that add to our suffering. You’ve experienced this. I have experienced this and we’d like for it to stop, right? This post by Holley is so right on in my humble opinion and I will share it where I can. Perhaps you have places you can share it as well . . . even directly to those who have caused you pain. It is hard for pain to have a voice. But since I have been on this journey for awhile perhaps my words can “stand in the gap” for others who are to weak to speak. Read and be encouraged.

*  *  *  *

They walk into my counseling office and bare the scars on their hearts.

They lean into me at blogging conferences and tell of unkind comments.

They confide in me over coffee–the lines still echoing all the way back to childhood.

I nod my head, understand.

“Reckless words pierce like a sword” (Proverbs 12:18).

Words can be weapons.

A careless remark. A bit of gossip. A little less sensitivity in a stress-filled moment. Do we know what we do to our sisters?

I sit alone and pray about this one day. I’ve become afraid of words–of what they can do. And it seems in the dark I sense a whisper, “Daughter, words can defend and protect too.”

It’s right there in our armor: “The sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God” (Ephesians 6:17).

We must choose how we wield our words.

In my heart I once pictured the enemy coming and a wounded woman on the ground behind me. I put my sword in front of her and said, “You can’t have her. She belongs to the King.” I still get goosebumps as I put those words on this page–because that is why I write. Because life is hard and we all fall and we need sisters who stand in the gap for us. Because words have the capacity to hold back evil, to bring forth life, to sustain, encourage, and unite us.

Words are powerful.

And if you think yours aren’t part of a battle much bigger than you, think again.

So what do we do with this knowing, this sword that’s in our hands? Sisters, let’s choose to put our words firmly on the side of the Kingdom–to use them to protect and never to harm. I’m raising my sword and pledging my allegiance to you and to the One Who Loves Us.

~Holley Gerth

Share your thoughts....

