He knows everything

20131022_190812

Children like these are part of the kingdom of God. Mark 10:14, GW

This picture is priceless, don’t you agree? Does it take you back to a time when your children were young? I recall an incident that happened when my children were “knee high to a grasshopper”. The younger had been punished for obeying his older brother instead of his parents and as a consequence for his actions had received some “knowledge applied to his seat of understanding”. Afterwards I cuddled him and explained why his actions were unacceptable. Between heaves and sobs he blurted out, “But mommy, he knows everything and I know nothing!”

Although this precious memory happened long ago, it remains fresh in my mind and makes me smile. They were precious words out of the mouth of my babe. As the younger child, he idolized his older brother, who from his tender viewpoint, could do no wrong. He loved him, was in awe of his knowledge, and he trusted him to always play fair. I quickly pointed out the problem with following someone who may be a bit older, but not enough wiser to listen to his counsel ~ which was often intended to get him into trouble in the first place. And of course in this situation he had taken the bait.

This story reminds me of my relationship with God. He does know everything and I know very little. I can trust Him because He loves me unconditionally. Fortunately He is willing to teach me what He knows from His Word. No matter where I pick up and read, the Bible always has something to teach me. Even a well-worn text will often smack me between the eyes as if I am reading it for the first time. Unlike childish behavior and trickery, He always has my best interest at heart.

As humans we are all broken from sin. We are all broken from tragedy of some kind and we desire healing. The process is slow, but thorough, if left in the hands of our all-knowing God. He is the healer of broken hearts.  He can pick up the pieces of broken relationships, broken bodies, broken hearts, and put us back together again.

Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed; save me, and I shall be saved, for You are my praise.  Jeremiah 17:14, AMP

Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out!  Romans 11:33, NIV

 

 

8 thoughts on “He knows everything

  1. Hi Gracie~ We Have met already and have even spoken on the phone I am on S.O.S as well and am an admin under Cali.. My Son was a veteran and had succumbed To PTSD/ Depression.. The only thing that has kept me together is Our Heavenly Father cant do anything without him..
    BIG HUGS
    Teri Lumbard 🙂

      • Oh Hun no worries, I haven’t been active lately anywhere a lot going on right now, while triggering a lot of emotions it truly is God closing one door and opening another, a chance to start over fresh and how ironic right at the beginning of a new year, in this process doors have been opened to share My Love For God To help Heal Others at the same time work on my own healing, so over all what is about to take place Is truly a Blessing In disguise even if it doesn’t feel good right at the moment..something I have learned in my healing journey I have been on for 15 years.. and while losing my son Steven 3 years ago has put me a few steps back Im still On that Journey and that not all blessings are the feel good emotions we feel.. The Blessings in Disguise are the ones that come from heartache and pain and Moving Closer To Our Heavenly Father..God is using me for something even in the midst of my pain and heartache, just as he is using you with your writings that not only has touched many lives you have touched mine as well and has been a great source of comfort and for that I want to thank you for Allowing God To Use You as his instrument to help Heal others…

      • Thank you, Teri, for your kind and encouraging words. It is most humbling to hear you say that my simple words are a blessing. God is working through us both and for His glory. May His light shine brightly before you as you take steps forward this new year to help others. It is a win/win. Keep me posted. I care. Love and blessings, Gracie

  2. Very Well Put Grace, brought tears to my eyes reading this as it reminds me of how much My two surviving children looked up to their older Brother Steven and how his Suicide 3 years ago affected them Yet never has lost respect for their Brother.. Also I say an AMEN!!!! To God knowing everything and we are his children here on Earth Learning that never ceases, Isnt it Awesome To Know that we don’t have to know Much Yet We Have Such an Amazing Father Who Does that we can lean on rely on with out fail.. There is no Greater Love the The Love Of Our Heavenly Father.. thank you for sharing,
    Teri from facebook and admin on Lost Heroes..
    Big Hugs 🙂

    • Dear Teri, I am so happy to meet you, but under these circumstances, I am reminded that we share a common loss. My son died by suicide at his home. Did yours die in a war zone? I am so sorry for your loss. Thank you for your beautiful comment and I agree wholeheartedly. Thank you for reading my blog as I attempt to reach out to other hurting families in this life-long journey. Thankfully, we don’t walk alone. Our God walks with us. Please stop by again and share your thoughts. blessings, Gracie.

Share your thoughts....

