Calling all prayer warriors

I make no apologies. I am appealing to praying people all over the globe. Even if you do not pray, pause to think of the impact multiple prayers can have on those who are on the brink of death by their own choice. Somewhere there is a person right now who is in a battle for his life. Evil forces shout very negative things in his mind, and his resistance to their demands is weakening. I’m afraid he or she represents far too many. The statistics are ascending not descending. Suicide numbers are now higher than vehicular accidental death. Let’s remind ourselves that there are 99 deaths by suicide every 66 minutes worldwide! Or to break down the math even further . . . every 40 seconds. 40 SECONDS! These numbers are staggering! Many of us are also in great heartache. It’s personal for us because we can add a beloved name and sweet face to these statistics. It’s your child. It’s my child, and it’s so heart wrenching.file0001404780822

I am calling out to rally Prayer Warriors from the north, south, east and west to pray for even one person because God loves for us to pray. He loves for us to have a conversation with Him. It matters not whether we are alone or in a group. There is power in prayer. We don’t have to convince God to save; He has already done so, but He sends even more power to earth through His Holy Spirit and His angels when we pray. God is mighty to save to the uttermost, and in His Word we find the proof:

“Therefore He is able also to save to the uttermost (completely, perfectly, finally, and for all time and eternity) those who come to God through Him, since He is always living to make petition to God and intercede with Him and intervene for them” (Hebrews 7:25).

Dear Reader, you and I both know that hindsight is 20/20. I now realize that I should have pushed to do more for my firstborn in his time of great need . . . if only I had known. If he had been lost in the woods, in the mountains, or at sea, within minutes, search parties would have been dispatched to look for him. Somehow it’s not the same when they are “lost” in their own little world of pain.

With all the Prayer Warriors I knew, I didn’t call one. Why didn’t I? It’s an agonizing question, to be sure, but one for which I have no answer. And what’s worse, I didn’t even think to call. I was praying and pacing, worried out of my mind. Hindsight suggests that it would have been helpful to have someone with me; someone to pray with me, her arm around my shoulders, but I prayed alone. I cannot reverse my child’s death any more than you can. I admit that it’s unlikely anything could have been done to save him. It would be easy to dwell on the “shoulda, woulda, coulda’s,” but I choose not to. I encourage you not to dwell on them either. They serve no earthly good, and the ravages of guilt only zap our strength.

When I allow myself to think about how my firstborn died, I choose to believe that heaven was present with him. I can’t imagine the Creator of heaven and earth would leave my child, His child, alone at such a time. Maybe his personal guardian angel,”Gabe”, who was with him when he was born and throughout his life, was with him when he died. I don’t understand how God could let him die, but I’m learning to accept that His ways are higher than mine (Isaiah 55:9) and someday I will understand. You will, too.

Max Lucado, an author many times, over has this to say about prayer: “If you want to deepen your prayer life—pray! Don’t prepare to pray. Just pray. Don’t read about prayer. Just pray. Don’t attend a lecture on prayer or engage in discussion about prayer. Just pray! James 5:13 says anyone who’s having troubles should pray. Anyone who’s happy should sing praises! Posture, tone, and place–these are personal matters. Do what works for you. Just don’t over-think it! In other words, don’t be so concerned about wrapping the gift that you never give it! Better to pray awkwardly than not at all. And if you feel you should only pray when you’re inspired, that’s okay! Just see to it that you’re inspired every day!”

Max Lucado, Grace for the Moment

Scripture versions: Hebrews from Amplified Bible (AMP), Isaiah from New International Version (NIV)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Calling all prayer warriors

Share your thoughts....

