From Mourning to Dancing

I know the massive hole left in one’s heart after a child has passed away. As a mom I know the pain from losing a child to suicide. I lost my firstborn to this horrific killer some years ago.

file0001960731775

“… God has sent me to give them a beautiful crown in exchange for ashes, To anoint them with gladness instead of sorrow, to wrap them in victory, joy, and praise instead of depression and sadness.” Isaiah 61:3a

In spite of the words of scripture that mention anointing us with gladness instead of sorrow, we continue to be bombarded with death in our time. There have been mass shootings in Dallas, San Bernardino, and Orlando. And who can forget what happened at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut? Once a peaceful little town it lost its innocence when the happy voices of sweet children were silenced forever.

Our planet has known death from its creation after our first parents experienced the death of a child in the beginning chapters of their recorded story. Firstborn son, Cain, became angry with his brother, Abel, and killed him. Adam and Eve’s overwhelming sorrow must have felt eerily unfamiliar; they had never buried anyone they loved before. They had no history; no family tree filled with names from previous generations to remind them of Satan’s lie, “You will not die.” Nor did they have the modern technology we have which allows us to converse with those suffering a similar loss. No. Our first parents had no one to talk to about the pain death brings to the living. They had no one to remind them that they were not alone.

We watch the evening news where the tragedies of others are televised, but Adam and Eve’s story has been documented for future generations. One might say they blazed a trail of sorrow for the rest of us. Just as they were blindsided by the evil mark of murder and were thrust into mourning the loss of their son thousands of years ago, we are still forced into mourning today.

When sorrow gets the best of me, and I tire of hearing about the evil being perpetrated around the globe, I feel a longing deep within my soul to draw near to the heart of God. I want Him to be my refuge, my rock (Psalm 71:3). If it were possible, I’d prefer the safety of His lap where I could cuddle and be comforted. This is the peaceful picture that comes to my mind when sorrow overwhelms me. It’s personal, but I gladly share it with you, although you may have a picture of your own that comes to mind when you need it most.

I find hope in scripture, and I share that hope with you; we are reminded that one day, not so far in the distant future, we will dance stead of shed tears of sorrow. Yes! One day we will trade our mourning “clothes” for dancing shoes! Hand in hand with our precious children we will kick up our heels and dance for joy!

“You did it: You turned my deepest pains into joyful dancing; You stripped off my dark clothing and covered me with joyful light.” Psalm 30:11

Scripture from The Voice (VOICE)

 

 

2 thoughts on “From Mourning to Dancing

Share your thoughts....

