Double Blessings

Twin kids

. . . she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me’ . . . Luke 15:9b

It is unfathomable to me how new life could ever burst forth out of the ashes of sorrow, but thankfully it does. New life will soon burst forth in our family, and I am ecstatic! All I have to do is wait in expectant expectation until this sweet, new journey begins. I just had to share the good news with my readers . . . my kids are making me a grandma! And not just one baby, but two! My youngest son and his lovely wife will soon become parents to identical twin baby girls!

Those of you who are proud members of the “Grandparents Society” will let me “sign up,” won’t you? Surely this club allows members exclusive bragging rights. I don’t wish to bore you, but I would like to share the prefix to this exciting new journey, already a cherished memory. (Also, I’m open to any advice other grandparents have to share.)

Hubby and I had already been surprised with the announcement, “We’re pregnant!” Days later, after the ultrasound, the kids popped in. As my daughter-in-law (really just my “daughter”) stepped across the threshold, she put her phone up close so I could get a good look at the screen. Yes, it was obviously an ultrasound picture which, quite frankly, I have always struggled to see anything remotely human on those things. This time I saw it plainly: there were two tiny “dots” on the screen. Dumbfounded, I looked up and met her blue eyes, opened wide in amazement. “T-w-i-n-s?? I asked.

“Yes! We are having TWO babies!” she squealed.

Chatting like magpies, both my son and new mommy blew passed me into the kitchen. First my daughter said breathlessly, “I don’t know how this happened. *We don’t have twins in our family.”

I responded, “My grandma had twins.”

Suddenly my son was all ears, his normal deep voice cracking in tenor. “She did? Why didn’t I know that!?”

I responded, “Probably because it wasn’t important before.”

“Well, it’s important now! I want to know everything!” he exclaimed between bites of a sandwich they bought on the way over.

It seems that when the kids saw the ultrasound screen, and the attendant pointed out Baby A and Baby B, my son’s reaction was quick. “I think I’m going to faint.” Someone rolled a chair up behind his knees, and he plopped down heavily. “Whew!” he exclaimed. “This is a lot to take in!”

My daughter seemed to be thinking out loud. We’ll need two of everything: two car seats, two strollers, two high chairs . . . and from long distance her dad interjected . . . and two college tuitions! Thanks for the reminder, Dad. Whew! It is a lot to take in!

It’s been a few weeks, and both families have had a chance to digest the news. It won’t be long now before parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles will excitedly welcome two little bundles of joy into the world.

As I share the beginning of our wonderful journey with you, dear reader, I am aware that some of you have likely lost babies either before or after they were born and before you got the chance to get to know them. As you read this piece, your heart may be acutely reminded of your loss, and I am so sorry if that is your story. No matter the age of the children we have buried there will always be painful reminders.

My blog is mostly about the grief journey and rightly so. Together, we explore the many facets of grief that we face each and every day in this circle of life. We celebrate all the milestones: births, weddings, graduations, birthdays, and the like. When the circle of life ends in death, our hearts break, and we mourn our losses.

Here’s the good news! This amazing circle of life, with its exciting new beginning for our family, comes in to nestle alongside the memories of a precious child lost. This co-mingling of life and death, which circles from birth to death and back around to birth again, will come to an end before eternity begins. We could be disoriented by the newness of heaven, but I doubt for long. Never again will one flower wilt, one leaf wither, or one person die. And therein lies our hope.

See, I will create new heavens and a new earth. The former things will not be remembered, nor will they come to mind. I will rejoice over Jerusalem and take delight in my people; the sound of weeping and of crying will be heard in it no more.
Never again will there be in it an infant who lives but a few days, or an old man who does not live out his years.           Isaiah 65:17, 19-20a 

PS – As can happen with multiple births, our babies came early before this piece was posted. We are blessed that they are both healthy.

Scripture shared from the New International Version (NIV)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Double Blessings

  1. I am so thrilled for your family. God has blessed you with these beautiful little babies. Watching them grow up is grandmothers pleasure. Although you lost your first born somehow I feel it will fill you with joy.

    I think about you every day, dear friend.
    Love you! ❤️

    • Thank you, my friend. We are indeed “doubly blessed.” No child ever replaces a child, but you are right when you say that we are filled with joy. Watching my son hold and feed one of his twins for the first time was amazing and humbling. You have much to teach me about being a new Gram so share away! Blessings, Gracie

Share your thoughts....

